Faculty and Staff

Richie Palma DirectorRichard Palma BS, RDCS, RCS, ACS, FASE
Director and Clinical Coordinator 

Richard Palma has been employed at Saint Francis Hospital and Medical Center since 1992. In 2001 he became the founder and program director of the Hoffman Heart and Vascular Institute School of Cardiac Ultrasound. He graduated from Northeastern University in 1987 with a BS degree in Cardiovascular Health and Exercise. He has been a sonographer for more than 23 years. He was a lead sonographer at Saint Francis Hospital for eight years. In 2001 he earned recognition as an Advanced Practicing Sonographer (APS) from the SDMS. In 2002, he became one of the first sonographers in the country to earn Fellowship of American Society of Echocardiography (FASE). In 2015 he was one of the first in the country to pass the (ACS) Advanced Cardiac Sonographer exam and earn the credential of ACS.

As an educator, Mr. Palma has been a leader in the field. He received the Distinguished Educator Award from the SDMS in 2011.  He is an assistant professor of medicine at the University of Connecticut. He was on the original task force that wrote the current National Education Curriculum (NEC). He has chaired the ASE educator summit for several years. He has been actively involved in many national committees including:

Educational concentrations in areas of: 

  • Advocacy Committee (ASE)
  • Sonographer Education and Training Committee (ASE) 
  • Career Development Committee (SDMS)
  • National Membership Committee (SDMS)
  • Continual Education Committee (SDMS)
  • National Educational Curriculum Task Force (SDMS)
  • Conference Management Committee (SDMS)
  • Item Writer (ARDMS) and (CCI)
  • National Liaison CCI-ASE
  • International Education Task Force (ASE) Chair
  • Board of Directors (ASE)

A nationally recognized speaker and educator, Palma has lectured over 100 times nationally at the ASE, SDMS, and hospitals throughout out the country. He is also recognized for his international work. He was one of the first sonographers to lecture in India and Indonesia.

Medical Director

Anita M. Kelsey, M.D.

Distinguished Faculty

Bernard Clark III, M.D.