Distinguished Physicians Honored by Saint Francis

Two Physicians Chosen for Annual Award  

Drs Narayanan and Wade 4_17_14 (Hartford, Conn.  April 17, 2014)  -  The Saint Francis Hospital and Medical Center Distinguished Physician of the Year award has been presented to N. Chandra Narayanan, M.D., FACS, and Peter B. Wade, M.D. 

The Distinguished Physician of the Year Award is given by the Saint Francis medical staff to physicians who have demonstrated clinical excellence and achieved a high degree of recognition for their non-clinical contributions in the Hospital, regionally or nationally. The hospital medical staff began presenting the award in 1997 at the group’s annual dinner dance. The recipients are chosen by the medical staff’s Medical Executive Committee which consists of the officers of the medical staff, the chair of the credentials committee, the chair of the quality oversight committee, the medical department chair, the surgical department chair and five active medical staff members elected at-large. 

Dr. Narayanan, a Simsbury resident, is Associate Director, Center for Advanced Wound Healing and Lymphedema Therapy at Saint Francis. He is a board certified surgeon with over 32 years of experience in general and oncological surgery. He is a fellow of the American College of Surgeons and a fellow of the Royal College of Surgeons of Canada. He is a past president of the Hartford County Medical Association (1995-96). He has also served as a mentor for medical students, physician assistants, and surgical residents for the last 30 years. He is a visiting professor in Malaysia and India, and author of several papers in surgery. He has held the position of Clinical Assistant Professor in the University of Connecticut Surgery Department since 1997. His interests include wound healing research and surgical pathology.  

Dr. Wade, a Farmington resident, is the Medical Director for Neurology at the Joyce D. and Andrew J. Mandell Center for Comprehensive Multiple Sclerosis Care and Neuroscience Research. He is a staff neurologist at the Stroke Center at Saint Francis and has been an attending neurologist at Saint Francis since 1990. A major interest within his practice has always been the care and treatment of multiple sclerosis. Dr. Wade is board certified in internal medicine, neurology and vascular neurology.  Dr. Wade has been name a “Top Doc” by both Connecticut Magazine and Hartford Magazine. 

About Saint Francis Care 

Saint Francis Care is an integrated healthcare delivery system established by Saint Francis Hospital and Medical Center, an anchor institution in north central Connecticut since 1897.  Licensed for 617 beds and 65 bassinets, it is a major teaching hospital and the largest Catholic hospital in New England.  Other major entities of Saint Francis Care include The Mount Sinai Rehabilitation Hospital, the Connecticut Joint Replacement Institute, the Hoffman Heart and Vascular Institute of Connecticut, the Saint Francis/Mount Sinai Regional Cancer Center, the Joyce D. and Andrew J. Mandell Center for Comprehensive Multiple Sclerosis Care and Neuroscience Research, and Saint Francis HealthCare Partners.  Johnson Memorial Medical Center, parent organization of Johnson Memorial Hospital, Evergreen Health Care Center, and Home and Community Health Services is also a Saint Francis Care Partner.  Saint Francis Care’s services are supported by a network of five major Access Centers and eight additional medical office centers sited throughout the region.  For more information, visit www.stfranciscare.com.