Surgery Service Line Awards

Karen O'Neill Award  

Colleen Desai, RN - Trauma Service 

This award recognizes a New England nurse in tribute and memory of Karen O'Neill.  Karen was a Massachusetts ENA member who demonstrated strength, gentleness, excellence, motivation and endurance in the face of adversity.  This award is given during the New England Regional Symposium (NERS) each spring.

A call for nominations, including a brief description of the award criteria, will be circulated to all current CTENA members and in the ADVANCE packet for attendees.  Nominations will be submitted to the president.  The CTENA President will verify submission content, ensure each candidate holds a valid RN license with no restrictions, is an ENA member and confirm employer prior to submitting for selection.  Nominations will be submitted to the CTENA Board at the February Board meeting prior to the National Leadership Conference.  A majority vote of the CTENA board members present will decide the final candidate.  Candidate information will be submitted to the NERS Presidents Council at the National Leadership conference for their vote.  For more information see our NERS page under Education.

Nightingale Awards for Excellence in Nursing 

Joyce Lowell, RN - Unit 7-7
Bridget Rich RN - PACU
Zina Ruban, RN Unit 6-2

The Nightingale Awards for Excellence in Nursing program was originally developed by the Visiting Nurse Association of South Central CT (VNA/SCC) to be a collaborative effort to celebrate outstanding nurses and elevate the nursing profession. The goals of the program are to encourage retention, inspire future nurses, focus public attention and recognize the breadth and scope of nursing practice at the local level.

Registered Nurses, Licensed Practical Nurses, Advanced Practice Registered Nurses and Nurse Practitioners may be nominated for recognition by their employers if they are involved in clinical practice, leadership, scholarship and/or education. Nominees should have made a significant impact on patient care and/or the nursing profession; gone "beyond the call" in a clearly illustrated scenario; demonstrated excellence above what is normally expected; shown commitment to the community served in a way that is significantly above the norm; or achieved a life-long legacy in a particular arena.

Since 2003, the Greater Hartford Nightingale Awards Gala has honored nearly 900 nurses and has awarded $48,500 in nursing scholarships to local nursing students. Join us at the Hartford Marriott Downtown on May 9, 2013 as we recognize and celebrate 100 of Greater Hartford’s exceptional nurses.

Caring Hearts, Healing Hands Award for Nursing Excellence 

Carrie Lauritsen, RN - PACU 

Jessica Champagne, RN - Unit 7-7
Jennifer Baranowski, RN - PACU

This award is open to all Saint Francis Hospital and Medical Center and Mount Sinai Rehabilitation Hospital Registered Nurses.

This award has been made possible through the generous support of the Triompo family to acknowledge St. Francis Care nurses who demonstrate exceptional performance, caring and compassion. 

Three categories of exceptional performance have been identified:

  • Advocacy: Nurses who have accomplished significant results on behalf of a patient, family and/or community by assuming a leadership role to identify and help resolve ethical and clinical concerns within the clinical setting.
  • Caring Practices: Nurses who provide care that is responsive to the unique needs of the patient and family, and which creates an environment that is compassionate and therapeutic through the promotion of comfort and avoidance of suffering.
  • Clinical Practices:  Nurses who have the ability to integrate active listening and effective communication with nursing knowledge, skills, and experience to promote the best possible outcomes for patients and their families.

Sisters of Saint Joseph of Chambéry 

David Shapiro, MD - Truama Service
Marisol Feliciano - Truama Service

The awards are presented each year to Saint Francis staff members who have been judged to best exemplify the founding mission and values of the Sisters of Saint Joseph of Chambéry: “ be a compassionate, healing and supportive presence to patients, visitors and staff, without distinction.”

Healthcare Heroes Awards

David Shapiro, MD - Truama Service
Marisol Feliciano - Truama Service

Laura Sanzari, RN - Quality 

CHA's "Healthcare Heroes" Contest, developed in 2002, celebrates the importance of healthcare careers and the accomplishments of people working in healthcare. Now in its 10th year, the presentation of the contest awards has become an integral part of CHA's Annual Meeting. Healthcare Heroes are selected by a panel of CHA staff based on submitted nominations.

Hartford Business Journal Health Care Heroes Award 

Laura Sanzari, RN - Quality 

The Health Care Heroes Awards identifies outstanding leaders in the health care industry who are the epitome of a "hero." Whether they are doctors, nurses, specialists or managers, join us in recognizing those individuals who embody the word "hero" and prove their excellence in helping others.